Raghava Rao’s service to the party and Darsi constituency was duly recognized by Nara Chandrababu Naidu after he was given the opportunity to contest the assembly elections held in May 2014. Raghava Rao’s good work in the constituency and deep connections with the party cadre and people gave him a victory over his rival from the YSR Congress Party. Telugu Desam party won the Darsi seat after 15 long years. Telugu Desam formed the government in the bifurcated state of Andhra Pradesh in June 2014.